Grants and Awards

Members of SAAS are eligible to apply for grants and awards from the Nordic Association for American Studies (NAAS) as well as from the European Association for American Studies (NAAS).

The Orm Øverland Prize
To honor the work of Professor Orm Øverland, one of the most significant Nordic scholars of American Studies, NAAS has created the Orm Øverland Prize to be awarded to the best graduate student paper presented at the biannual conference. In addition to a monetary award (EUR 200), the winning paper will be considered for publication in the NAAS journal, American Studies in Scandinavia. Please see the NAAS website for information about the Orm Øverland Prize and submission guidelines.

The Henry Wasser Travel Grant
NAAS is pleased to announce the Professor Henry Wasser Travel Grant for the participation of graduate students in our national and Nordic conferences. The grant was made available thanks to the generosity of Solidelle Fortier Wasser and her son Professor Frederick Wasser, in honor of their late husband and father. The grant is awarded to Ph.D. and M.A. students enrolled in any of the Nordic countries’ institutions of higher education to attend American Studies conferences in the Nordic countries (e.g. ASANOR, DAAS, FASA, SAAS, NAAS). Please see the website for submission guidelines.

The EAAS Postgraduate Travel Grants
Postgraduate students in the Humanities and Social Sciences who are registered for a higher research degree at any European university, and are members of an American Studies association belonging to EAAS may apply. Two kinds of grants are available: the Transatlantic Grant (to conduct research in the United States) and the Intra-European Grant (for research in Europe). The maximum single award granted may amount to EUR 2,000. See the EAAS website for detailed information and submission guidelines.

The EAAS Book Awards
The EAAS has two book prizes awarded biannually. The American Studies Network Book Prize (or the ASN Book Prize) is awarded for a monograph published by a European scholar, while the Rob Kroes Publication Award is presented for unpublished manuscript-length publications. See the EAAS website for more information.